About Me

I’m a native Californian who loves to travel. I have always described myself as a “perpetual gypsy.” My mother passed away when I was only six years old. My father was a carpenter and he moved around the state wherever his work took him. My stepmother and I followed him, which meant changing schools often and exploring new areas. This lifestyle instilled in me a desire to see new places and meet new people.

In an effort to continue traveling, I joined the Air Force at age eighteen. Not long afterward I met the man who would become my husband. Together with our children, we travelled around the United States and the world for almost twenty years. In the early ‘90s my husband retired from the military and we returned to Northern California. Eventually we settled in the Sacramento area and both of us ended up working in local county government. After we retired from those careers, we lived in an RV, seeing even more of the United States than we had during our military days. Unfortunately, that marriage ended after 41 years of adventure and challenges. My ex-husband is still a friend and he is taking advantage of his retirement years to pursue his lifelong dream of making music.

In the mid 1990s, I fell down a flight of stairs and as a result I can no longer work in a busy office environment as I did for many years. I suffer from severe chronic pain, depression, anxiety and PTSD, which I talk about freely. I do not consider these problems as something to be ashamed of. Rather, they are just additional challenges for me to conquer and examples of my indomitable will to survive. If I write about them here, it is because I hope my own experiences with these issues might provide some small modicum of insight for others who suffer from these same issues. Feel free to comment on them as well. Only by sharing these things and hearing others’ experiences do we learn to put them in perspective.

I now live in Northern California near my children and finally have time to write. I am the author of two published short stories, Riptide and The Choice, both of which can be found on Amazon.com. I also have two novels in the works. One is a sci-fi novella. The other is the first book of a dark fantasy series that skirts the line between urban and epic. Hopefully as time marches on I will have occasion to post excerpts from other works as well.

Periodically, I will post excerpts from my works in progress and I would love the hear your thoughts on them, so please leave any comments or suggestions you might have. It would help me greatly in determining what works and what doesn’t.

I also provide editorial, proofreading services and book reviews. If you are a writer or a business needing someone to take a critical look at your work, check my editorial services page for more details.

In addition, I am working toward gaining certification as a genealogist. I’ve been involved in genealogical research on my own family since 1980 and I have been providing family history research to friends and acquaintances for over 20 years. If you are interested in hiring me to research your family, check my genealogy page for more details.

I will occasionally post links on this site to other blogs and websites that I find interesting. In addition, I maintain an author’s page and a personal page on Facebook, and make an occasional appearance on Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram and LinkedIn. If you are interested in keeping up to date on my work and life, feel free to follow me on those sites.

When I’m not writing, editing, painting or pursuing other creative endeavors, I spend time with my children and grandchildren, who live nearby. I share my abode with two miniature schnauzers, Uschi (pronounced OO-she) and Max, and a Maine Coon cat whose nickname is Sky Dancer because she is gravitationally challenged.

I hope you enjoy your time here. Please feel free to leave a comment if you find something on these pages that interests you.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.